Review: Legends of Tomorrow, “Night of the Hawk”

Progressive/nerd/parent review (spoilers)

I wonder if a Vandal Savage casserole is even perishable?
I wonder if a Vandal Savage casserole is even perishable?

Legends of Tomorrow Season 1, Episode 8 “Night of the Hawk

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 3/3 – Sara Lance and Nurse Carlisle have several scenes alone together where they sometimes discuss men, but often discuss things having nothing at all to do with men.

Shukla Score: 1/3 – Jax and Kendra were each big players in this episode, but they were never together.

Russo Score: 3/3 – Well I’ve been saying the show needs to re-up on Sara’s bisexual identity if they want to keep getting Russo points and that surely did happen this week. Sara’s brief romance with Nurse Carlisle was neither heavy handed nor mere decoration; they contributed significantly to the plot of the episode.

Kittehs: 😺😺😺/5 – This episode was a combination of things that pulled me in and things that bored me. The dialogue about the personal and political aspects of time travel was more pointed than I expected and really got my attention. The monsters and experiments were off-putting, even if it was really funny to see 1958 Vandal Savage as a Vincent Price type bad guy. So it was just back and forth like that the whole episode.

Low points: I can’t think of a critical complaint so no real low points. Personally I didn’t enjoy the bird monsters or any of the horror show tropes they integrated into the episode. I think it was all well done, but it just isn’t my thing.

Highlights: Ray Palmer eating Savage’s casserole gave me a good laugh. As I mentioned earlier, I enjoyed the various subversive qualities of this episode. In having the characters confront the privilege and oppression of the past they managed to touch on the privilege and oppression of the present. Jax and Sara calling Stein out for his straight/white/male biased view of time travel was great and I was really surprised how directly the show spoke about it through the characters in that scene. Not entirely unrelated, the best line of the episode was Sara explaining to Dr. Stein that she was not seducing Carlisle, but that her nascent romance with the nurse was just “liberating her, with an option to seduce her later.”

Dad edits: Too many scary monsters and people getting torn up by them pretty badly. Too much of Savage experimenting on people, including Jax. This is definitely not an episode to show my young kid, which is too bad because I would like to share the rest of the episode so we could talk about the cultural and political stuff.

Tell TLP what you thought of this episode! Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

(Click here for previous reviews)

DC’s Legends of Tomorrow airs on The CW on Thursdays at 8/7c

Leave a Reply

