Review: Supergirl, “Falling”

Progressive/nerd/parent review

There is no Kara. There is only Zuul.
There is no Kara. There is only Zuul.

Supergirl Season 1, Episode 16 “Falling” (spoilers)

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 3/3 – The first scene or three, and most of the episode thereafter, passed all three tests.

Shukla Score: 3/3 – Hey! They actually had the real Senator Crane talk to Director Henshaw this week, a couple of times. Jimmy Olsen and Henshaw exchanged two whole lines of dialogue too, which is two more than usual, but the scenes between Crane and Henshaw are what scored the points. Still, it is only barely beyond a 2.5 “technicality” score.

Russo Score: 0/3 – Another week with zero LGBTQ representation. 👎😡 This is fucked up, okay? I will link my Legends of Tomorrow review when it is published, because it is an example of how easy it is to pass – or at least get a non-zero score – on the Russo test.

Kittehs: 😺🙀😺😺/5 – It would have taken four kittehs or more to distract me from this episode, because holy shit Kara got wicked mean. The surprised kitteh is because Kara’s sabotage of Siobhan caught me off guard. I loved it and I think anyone who is a a fan of both Supergirl and Carl Jung would have to appreciate this episode. Welcome shadow!

Low points: I don’t think Kara needs a boyfriend. I really don’t. And even if I did, the unromantic non-courtship between her and Jimmy Olsen would still be awful. The club scene was the only lame part of Kara’s fall and her makeup chat with Jimmy was the only weak part of her journey back to normality. Why is Olsen the last person in National City to know what he is feeling? And what kind of fool gets an “I want you” from Supergirl and responds with “I need time to think,” as if we didn’t already know he won’t be able to figure out what he is feeling until someone else tells him? Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying people are good at relationships in real life, just that the way we are bad at them is not at all like how TV shows are bad at them.

Highlights: Throwing Cat Grant off the building was great (as was their makeup chat – take note, Olsen). Really, every time Kara let out her repressed judgments and feelings I thought was great. They could easily have made her just cartoonishly, thoughtlessly evil, but instead the writers decided to treat us not to Kara-made-evil so much as the-evil-that-lurks-inside-Kara. That is scarier, more interesting, and much more real life. Well done!

Dad edits: I watched this episode for the first time with my kid and that went fine. There isn’t much gun violence and it is all directed at a bulletproof people. I also appreciated the opportunity to talk to my son about how most people have anger they feel, and resentments they think, that need to be expressed in good ways – or else we risk turning into bad guys. 👍

Supergirl airs on CBS on Mondays at 8/7c

What did you think of this episode? Tell TLP! Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

1 thought on “Review: Supergirl, “Falling””

Leave a Reply

