Review: Supergirl, “Solitude”

Progressive/nerd/parent review

All the feels! 😭
All the feels! 😭

Supergirl Season 1, Episode 15 “Solitude” (spoilers)

(Note: Apologies for the delay to fans of these reviews, I believed this post to be published until I found it in my drafts folder this morning.)

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 3/3 – Once again, the opening scene cleared all three tests. That happened several more times during the episode. 👍

Shukla Score: 1/3 – Same as most weeks – Olsen and Henshaw are both African American series regulars, but they were never in the same place, and no other people of color (with names) appeared in the episode.

Russo Score: 0/3 – Another week with zero LGBTQ representation. 👎😡

Kittehs: 😺😿/5 – It was an okay episode, but its weak points were on prominent display from the beginning until just before the very end, which was really good. Two kittehs could easily have distracted me from most of the show.

Low points: The villain’s behavior made no sense at all, which is especially problematic when the villain is supposed to be related to Brainiac. What do I mean? Well, why did the villain care about adulterous websites? Why did she reveal herself to CatCo and/or Supergirl instead of just going straight for the nuclear codes? Totally stupid. The Lucy-Jimmy-Kara derp triangle is pretty annoying, too. Is it over now? I hope so, but I doubt it.

Highlights: That scene at the end with Henshaw, Alex, and Kara was well done and it resolved a serious problem I have with any show, which is when the plot is being driven by stupidity and/or lying (there are better ways to create drama).

Dad edits: We watched it together, no edits, but if I had to do it over again I would have skipped past Indigo gunning down the soldiers at the nuclear silo. It was a fun one to watch with my kiddo, my favorite moment being after Indigo first appeared in her blue, phyiscal form with the red-dot-triangle on her forehead, my son said “Daddy, that is Brainiac’s mom. Did you know he had a mom? Because I knew that.” 👍

Supergirl airs on CBS on Mondays at 8/7c

(currently not preview available for episode 16)

Got a question or comment? Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

Leave a Reply

