Review: Arrow, “Sins of the Father”

Progressive/nerd/parent review

Things got kind of tense.
Things got kind of tense.

Arrow Season 4, Episode 13 “Sins of the Father” (spoilers)

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 3/3 – Nyssa and Laurel had a couple of three-point exchanges this episode. Also, women were pivotal to every facet of this week’s story. 👍

Shukla Score: 1/3 – Two or more named non-white characters in the episode, but they never spoke to each other. Talia Nyssa’s right-hand-assassin could just get a name and a few lines and the episode would have gone 3/3. It’s just not that hard to include people in the show.

Russo Score: 3/3 – Well, this is awkward. Even though she is technically married to Oliver, Nyssa is either L or B in LGBTQ and has been identified as such during the season (even during this episode). She was not a caricature and she was pivotal to the plot of the episode. I actually overlooked this in the last episode, but I don’t know that Nyssa would have moved the score then. Anyway, this week she is a prominent LGBTQ character. 👍

Kittehs: 😺😺🙀😾/5 – It would take four out of five kittehs to pull me away from this episode. Initially I was enjoying the episode, but not too invested in it. I got hooked in more by the second half, which had some cool twists. Then the very last moments of the episode had me completely focused, but also really irritated. Which brings me to…

Low points: (Major potential spoiler alert) At the very end of this episode, it first occurred to me that the all-season “who is in the grave?” mystery might have “Oliver’s son” as the answer. I’m not okay with that, I don’t like even having to wonder about it, and I hope they get that tension resolved ASAP. Season three had this big long build up to that poor kid getting killed in the flashbacks and now we are supposed to spend the back half of season four worried about something happening to William? I’m unhappy about this, to say the least.

Highlights: I’m an avowed non-shipper, but I do have a soft spot for Olivyssa, and this episode had some great scenes of Mrs. and Mr. Nyssa al Ghul. And hey, even I can admit the Olicity scenes in this episode were good, too. Oliver and Felicity are definitely better as a couple than as a tension. 👍 One other highlight – I love all the warehouses and rooftops in Star City that are available for sword fights on any given night. The youtube channels for folks in that city must be awesome, what with all the amateur videos of street battles.

Dad edits: If my son were old enough to watch this episode, we would talk about… …how I don’t fight crime at night – not for lack of superpowers – but precisely because I wouldn’t want him to be in harm’s way. I would also mention to him that Nyssa could kick Malcom/Ras’ ass all on her own, and that Oliver stepping in for her was bullshit.

Arrow airs on The CW on Wednesdays at 8/7c

Got a question or comment? Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

1 thought on “Review: Arrow, “Sins of the Father””

Leave a Reply

