Review: The Flash, Episode 12 “Fast Lane”

Progressive/nerd/parent review

Fast Lane
2 + 2 = Trust your team, Harry! You’re welcome.

The Flash Season 2, Episode 12 “Fast Lane” (spoilers)

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 1/3 – At this point, only two regulars on the show are women and they didn’t talk to each other during this episode. Boo.

Shukla Score: 3/3 – The West family continues to both ace this test and provide the family story arc of the season. And it is better than the Allen family drama in season 1, which is a bonus.

Russo Score: 0/3 – There is no LGBTQ representation in this episode. At all. WTF?! I provided some ideas for solving this problem last week. Come on now, folks.

Kittehs: 😺😺🙀😻/5 – This episode started out a bit weak, with maybe one or two kittehs all that it would take to get my attention. However, by about halfway through the episode, the Earth-2 Harry sub plot was getting gripping and the West family was pulling me in and all kinds of cool stuff started happening (see highlights) that reminded me why I love this show. Strong finish – four kittehs!

Low points: Why was Iris wearing that one outfit? I mean, I don’t mean to complain – it was not unpleasant – but why did she get more-than-normally-sexualized just to moralize at her little brother for one scene? That was weird. Anyway, I don’t even know if that is a low point. This was a good episode. Sorry, I will work on being better at complaining. Oh! The bad guy of the week was kind of boring, and forgettable. Hence I barely even remembered to complain about him. Sandbox? No… …Tarpit! That was it.

Highlights: Felicity Smoak reference was on point. Barry giving his Captain-Picard-inspiration-talk to the team about how do deal with Earth-2 Harry, and then going to talk to Harry. That was good stuff. The West family drama is not just filling the hole left by the Allen family drama resolution, it is also consistently providing some of the best family stories the show has ever had. Of course, as with any week, Cisco is a highlight and has all the best lines. And, really, the Barry/Harry scenes get better each time I think about them; the two actors have great chemistry, and Tom Cavanaugh continues to be a scene stealer as any version of Harrison Wells.

Dad edits: I love this episode. My son will love Iris schooling her dad… …and I will love explaining that she is schooling her dad on making sure his kids make good choices! Ha ha ha, sucker! Dear CW, thanks for the parenting assist. I appreciate you! My only edit might be skipping the meta-human bad guy of the week origin story, because I don’t want to explain someone getting dropped into molten tar. Yeah, gonna ditch that.

The Flash airs on Tuesdays at 8/7c on The CW

Got a question or comment? Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

Leave a Reply

