Supergirl, Episode 10 “Childish Things”

Progressive/nerd/parent review

My least favorite character on TV chats with one of my favorite character actors

Supergirl Season 1, Episode 10 “Childish Things”

Bechdel-Wallace Score: 3/3

Shukla Score: 1/3

Russo Score: 0/3

Kittens: 😺/5

This episode had no LGBTQ representation. There are two named, recurring characters that are persons of color, but they never spoke during the episode. This episode was a relative sausage fest for Supergirl, with only one scene (between Cat Grant and Lucy Lane) featuring two women talking about not-men. Since the episode was focused on Winn and his relationship with Kara, the episode nearly got zero kittens, which would basically mean that I was so bored I went looking for a kitten instead of watching. However, I am digging the J’onn J’onzz subplot and I really like the actor who plays Toyman, so I gave it one out of five kittens. But seriously, that kitten would not have to work hard to get my attention.

Low points: Oh my, where to begin. I guess I am something of an anti-shipper, because I found the interactions between Jimmy and Lucy as well as those between Kara and Winn to be cringeworthy. Also, seriously, quicksand? Ice as a barrier against explosions? It is like they wrote an episode about Winn and his dad, then asked a first grader to figure out how to include Supergirl in the proceedings. And did I mention that the interactions between Winn and Kara are really problematic? I could complain about it for pages, but I would rather offer a solution (because I know the show runners are reading my every review): The show could solve a storytelling and diversity problem at the same time by having Winn come out to Kara that he is gay and has been using his Kara-crush as some kind of beard. “How could they reverse all the Winn/Kara stuff to do that,” you ask? That is no problem for the people who had Cat Grant undiscover Supergirl’s obvious alter ego. Just sayin’.

Highlights: Anything and everything J’onn J’onzz/Hank Henshaw is lots of fun, and moving the series forward, which is a pretty big, positive shift from the early days of Director Henshaw being the weekly party pooper. I especially enjoyed J’onzz’s hilariously awkward impersonation of Maxwell Lord. Kara’s line about “I don’t usually inhale” was pretty funny. And as I mentioned, I am a fan of Henry Czerny, the actor who played Toyman. I am conflicted because I would like to see Czerny return as Toyman, but only if they’re going to come up with way better toy weapons and death traps.

Dad edits: The “previously on Supergirl” clips included Maxwell Lord beating Jimmy Olsen, so we will skip that. We will also skip Toyman’s escape from prison, because my kid doesn’t need to see cops being murdered with a yo yo. I considered adding the Kara/Winn dialogue to my list of edits, but I suppose it is never too early to expose my son to just how awful men and women are at having relationships with each other.

Supergirl airs on CBS on Mondays at 8/7c

Got a question or comment? Send an email, comment on Facebook, or tweet on Twitter. There is also Tumblr and the comment field below, if you’re into that kind of thing. 

2 thoughts on “Supergirl, Episode 10 “Childish Things””

Leave a Reply

